Wikia

GTA Wiki

Help:Deletion

Talk0
10,303pages on
this wiki
Revision as of 06:03, September 10, 2010 by Gta-mysteries (Talk | contribs)

Deleting content

File:Delete Page.jpg

Any user can delete content by editing a page and removing information. The content will still be available in the page history. Its helpful to explain your actions clearly in your edit summary and/or the talk page, so others know why the content was deleted. Usually these are automatic as they will say "removing all content from page".

Deleting a page

Only administrators can delete entire pages so they are no longer viewable. Many wikis use a template system of tagging pages for deletion. On these wikis, you can type {{delete}} onto a page that needs to be deleted, and an admin will check the page. You can also type {{Prod}}, or {{Vandal}}. Usually this is reserved for very obvious deletions, such as a page that has never been anything other than vandalism. For less obvious pages, there may be a page set up for discussions on what pages to delete. This gives the page's previous editors a chance to discuss why it should stay or go.

Restoring deleted pages

Admins can view a deleted page, determine whether it was wrongly deleted, and undelete some or all revisions of the text.

Deletion logs

You may examine the deletion log at Special:Log/delete. You can reach this page any time by clicking "Special pages" in the toolbar, selecting "Logs", and then choosing "Deletion log" in the dropdown at the top of the page. You will not be notified if a page you created or are watching is deleted. The page will disappear from your contributions list and watchlist.

When you visit a page which has been deleted:

  • A regular user will see the normal page creation message and edit box, but a box will be added warning you that you are recreating a previously deleted page.
  • An admin will see the same as a regular user, and also a small link at the top which says "view or restore N deleted edits?", where N is the number of revisions the page had before it was deleted. Clicking on this will take to you a page which allows you to view deleted content, and optionally restore certain revisions of the article.

Is there any way to delete information more permanently?

Staff members can use "oversight" (revision hiding) tools to remove certain revisions permanently (for instance, those that contain personal information such as addresses and phone numbers).

Deleting a wiki

Wikis can only be deleted by Wikia staff, via contacting them through Special:Contact. Because wikis are community projects, they are rarely deleted, so provide as much details as possible when making your request.

See also

Next Steps

Any user can remove content from a page, but only admins can delete pages completely. This is often done in cases of spam and vandalism, but may also be used to remove unwanted pages.

Step by step

If you find a page that you feel should be deleted, contact your local admins. If you are an admin, follow the steps below.

Deleting a page

  • When you are ready to delete a page, click the arrow on the "Edit" button next to the page title and then click "Delete".
Delete page
  • On the next page, you will see a box labelled "Delete".
DeletionScreen
  • The Delete box allows you to select a pre-written reason from the "Reason" drop-down menu. You can also supply one you wrote yourself in "Other/additional reason".
  • You also have the option to follow the page. This will notify you if the page is restored.
  • Click the "Delete" button.
  • You will be redirected to the main page of the wikia, where a green banner will appear at the top of the page confirming the page’s deletion.
  • You can review all deletions in the deletion log, found at Special:Log/delete.
  • If someone visits a deleted page they will have an option to restore that page.

Restoring a page

Any deleted page can also be restored by an admin later.

  • To restore a deleted page, go to Special:Undelete.
  • Enter the deleted page title in the "Show pages starting with" box and click "Search".
  • If you see a list of similarly named pages, find the one you want to restore and click on it.
Restore delete pages
  • In the "Restore revisions" box, take a read of the brief directions, then you can add a restoration reason in the "Reason" box.
RestorePageScreen
  • Click the "Restore" button.
  • The page will be restored just as it was when it was deleted, and will appear immediately.

Deleting a wikia

Wikias can only be closed by Wikia Staff. If you would like to request a wikia's closure, please send a message to Special:Contact. However, closure is rare as they are community projects, so please provide as much information as possible in your request to explain why.

Next steps

Further help and feedback

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki